Emigration CHECK: Everything you need to know

As per Emigration act 1983 certain categories of Indian Passport Holders require to obtain Emigration Clearance from the office of the protector of Emigrants (POE) for going to certain countries.

As per the Emigration act, it means living of any Indian citizen with the intent of taking up employment in a foreign country.

All Indian passports are divided into two categories

  • Passport with Endorsement – Emigration Check Required (ECR)
  • Passport with endorsement not required – Emigration Check Not Required (ECNR)

For the passport issued before January 2007, no notation in the passport means ECR.

For passports issued after January 2007, no notation in the passport means ECNR. If emigration check is required there will be an endorsement in the passport regarding ECR.

The idea behind ECR is for the safety of the Indian citizen due to the legal condition of other countries and it is based on various situations and conditions.

ECR Countries

If you are subject to ECR, emigration clearance from POE to enter any of the following countries for employment is required.

  • Afghanistan
  • Bahrain
  • Brunei
  • Kuwait
  • Indonesia
  • Iraq (Emission Banned)
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Malaysia
  • Oman
  • Qatar
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
  • Thailand
  • United Arab Emirates (UAE)
  • Yemen

Effective October 01, 2007 if you are travelling to any of the above countries for the purpose other than employment, you do not require emigration clearance.

Call Now Button
Open chat